Apprenticeship update!

Good evening all,

I hope your all well and have enjoyed a lovely weekend and if in the UK a great Bank holiday Monday!!!

Time for an update! Since my last update I have completed more put side caterings, three where it’s been at people’s homes, where we have gone in and set everything up and cooked amazing food for them! It’s been great fun! Naturally hard work but you have to enjoy or have fun while you work!

I am also feeling more and more apart of the team and am looking forward to each day, always with a pinch of nerves as I never know what it holds but in a way in which I get nerves before I play a hockey match. Moving on from that, I caught on BBC that a well known Rugby player had retired and written an open letter to the fans, in the letter he explains how they lay it all on the line and fight together on the pitch where it’s tough, words are exchanged but after all smiles and beer together… whilst reading, I couldn’t stop relating it to the kitchen.  As if it were about the restaurant and not a professional sportsman. This then finally brings me to my point that you can draw similarities which being a chef and being a professional team sportsman. During service it’s tough, you fight together, you help each other, sometimes words are crossed but after your mates, drink a beer together and share stories. What could be better?!

I also had my “Zwischenprüfung” this week. So it’s a practical test in the middle of the apprenticeship. We made “hack steaks, with butter-kartoffel und Gemüse in rahm” so mince meat steaks with boiled potatos then cooked in butter and in my case carrots cooked in cream. I got a good 3 which would be a C/C+. I was really nervous but once was there was fine. It all kicked in. Besides I can participate at Landhaus so I can pass a practical test.. I had fun, the teachers were great and played a great role in relaxing and I had a laugh with one.
So I had to write a work plan then name 10 items and then in the kitchen.
I set the mince in the cooler, switched on the hot plate and put my 4 plates in to get nice and hot. The plates must be piping hot! And set about chopping my onions, parsley and carrots and putting the potatoes in to boil. I broke down a stail bread roll and soaked it in milk. I blanched the carrots and set them in cold water to keep the colour. I kept the carrot fond to use later. Sweated off the onions and left to cool down. Got the mince meat out, weighed it out to get the right amount. Mixed with the onions, bread crumbs, a table spoons of mustard, salt and pepper and egg to bind it together. Peeled the potatoes and halved them on a diagonal. Reduced the carrot fond and added the cream and carrots to cook. Put a small test piece of the mince meat in the pan to check the seasoning was right. Then put all my hack steaks in and the potatoes in with butter to heat up. Then got the plates out and plated up. Was really pleased and got great feedback!!

My photos!!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

So until next time!

Leave a Reply

