Star Progress and some News…

Well good afternoon all,

I hope you are well and enjoying the last of summer!

Incase you were wondering, I am doing just fine! I am now working on the Saucier post in the kitchen as apart of my next move in the apprenticeship. Now, Saucier… first what is Saucier or rather what does it mean?  Here from Wiki;

“A saucier (French pronunciation: [sosje]) or sauté chef is a position in the classical brigade style kitchen. It can be translated into English as sauce cook. In addition to preparing sauces, the saucier prepares stews, hot hors d’œuvres, and sautés food to order. Although it is often considered the highest position of the station cooks, the saucier is typically still secondary to the chef and sous-chef.”

Now many seem to get confused or assume that the post is only to do with making sauces.  I thought that too before I started but Saucier is as above everything that goes with it. So the main (Meat) and the bits that go with it, be it Pasta, cabbage, pürees, etc… as well as of Course the Sauce. for example on the Fish post, they are responsible for everything that goes with Fish. so the Sauce, vegetables, etc, etc..

Now for me, comparing Gardemange (my first post) and now Saucier is like comparing two different Sports but which are similar. Saucier is so much busier, so much more to do all at the same time and of course which happens all the time more than one dish to prepare it’s crazy! But strangly fun at the same time. I mean I’m not going to admit to saying I love and that I enjoy everyday becuase then i’d be lying BUT it is strangly fun and in a way enjoyable. Like enjoyng punishment… I know, lets leave it there!

It has been great so far and I feel like I have learnt so much already! I am not working even closer with the Head Chef and Sous Chef and can clearly say that they are seriously good! and that it all seems to be easy in a way. Maybe one day I’ll get there but that’s not necessarily my Goal.

Now as I didn’t post any Pictures last time, here is a Picture over load!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

